NEWS RELEASE For Immediate Release November 11, 2013

For more information contact: **Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa** Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director Office: 800-794 -3458

\$34,900 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

Brett Irlmeier, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that \$34,900 in grants was awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies. With these grants, the Audubon County Community Foundation has distributed over \$1,000,000 in grants and scholarships over the last 13 years.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the September 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the Audubon County Board of Directors:

Organization	Organization/Project	Award
Audubon County Agricultural Society	Agri Hall air conditioning	\$8,725.00
Audubon Recreation Foundation	Construct recreation center	\$8,725.00
Exira Park Committee/City of Exira	LED programmable sign	\$8,725.00
Friendship Home Foundation	New Memory Care Unit	\$8,725.00

Of this total, \$2,000 from the Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund was awarded to the Exira Park Committee. The Audubon County Agricultural Society was awarded \$2,600 from the Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund, \$600 from the Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund, \$1,000 from the Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund, \$450 from the Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon, and \$450 from the Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund.

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on November 11th. During brief check distribution activities Irlmeier commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests. Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you'll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify. The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations. "This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall," said Irlmeier.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are: Chair, Brett Irlmeier of Audubon; Vice Chair, Jonnie Meislahn of Audubon; Secretary/Treasurer, Thomas R. Nielsen of Audubon; Joanie Heuton of Kimballton; Jay Nelson of rural Brayton; Daryl Olsen, DVM, of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen, Esq. of Exira.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.



Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards: 1st row from left to right: Jenny Smith, Audubon Recreation Foundation; Genelle Deist, Friendship Home Foundation; Donna and Jim Johnson, Exira Park Committee; and Thomas R. Nielsen, Secretary/Treasurer, Audubon County Community Foundation.

###