For more information, contact: Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa Audubon County Community Foundation Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Program Officer Office: 800-794-3458

Grant Reminder for Audubon County Nonprofit Organizations

Brett Irlmeier, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, a countywide community foundation, reminded Audubon County nonprofit organizations that the fall grant program is now beginning. The deadline to apply for funds through a grant application process is September 1st. "We are pleased to announce we have \$39,770 allocated for this fall grant cycle," said Irlmeier.

Of the \$39,770, approximately \$2,500 is available from the Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund for the Exira area, \$2,800 from the Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund, \$690 from the Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund, \$1,200 from the Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund is available for the City of Audubon area, \$490 is available for the City of Audubon from the Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon, and \$490 from the Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund for the City of Audubon.

The ACCF's grants and program *Mission* is to participate in funding community betterment projects and nonprofit organizations that have similar objectives. The *Goal* of the Audubon County Community Foundation grant program is to improve the quality of life in the county by supporting needs that are not being met in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social service. ACCF's *Objective* is to fund projects that will have a permanent impact for our county that people can take advantage of for many years. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County are eligible. They must be able to demonstrate broad community/county support and supply a copy of their 501(c)(3) IRS determination letter. Requests for general operational funds will not be considered.

Application procedures and grant guidelines can be obtained online at

www.iowacommunityfoundations.org/auduboncef. Click on the Grant Information tab or contact any board member for additional information. Detailed instructions are provided in a downloadable form, as well as a link to the online application. Only online applications will be considered.

These grant funds are made possible by the generosity of the Audubon County Community Foundation donors. To inquire about donating to the ACCF, please contact a Board member. Community Foundations in Southwest Iowa are particularly attractive charities because donations to these funds may be eligible for a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Please contact Dennis Nissen at 800-794-3458 or dennis@omahafoundation.org or Denise Cardos at denise@omahafoundation.org with grant application specific questions. All completed applications will be considered at the October board meeting with notification of results the end of October.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are Chair, Brett Irlmeier of Audubon, 563-2644; Vice Chair, Jonnie Meislahn of Audubon, 563-2009; Secretary/Treasurer, Thomas R. Nielsen of Audubon, 563-2721; Jay Nelson of Atlantic, 549-2277; Daryl Olsen, DVM of Audubon, 563-2080; and Joseph T. Rasmussen, Esq. of Exira, 268-5357,

###