For more information contact: Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Program Officer Office: 800-794 -3458

More than \$98,000 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

April 14, 2011 -- Brett Irlmeier, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that \$98,850 was awarded today in grants to Audubon County nonprofit agencies.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the February 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the Audubon County Board of Directors:

Organization	Project	Award
AMVC Cares	Complete reclamation of Hamlin Salvage Yard for Randi Munch Memorial Park	\$12,500.00
Audubon Community School District	Replace stage curtains & hardware at Fine Arts Theater	\$3,500.00
Audubon County Conservation Board	Improve water quality in lake at Littlefield Park	\$7,000.00
Audubon County Conservation Club	Make improvements to rifle range	\$6,000.00
Audubon County Historical Society	Install park signs along highway	\$1,000.00
Audubon County Hospital Foundation	Purchase equipment to screen for lung disease, etc.	\$5,000.00
Audubon Recreation Foundation	Preliminary architectural work and prepare site for building	\$15,000.00
Audubon Chamber of Commerce	Purchase picnic tables for city park	\$1,000.00
Brayton Fire Dept	Install insulation liner & heating system in new addition	\$12,500.00
City of Exira	Build gazebo for shelter on bike trail in Exira	\$10,000.00
Exira Chamber of Commerce	New trees, shrubs, signs & benches to improve City Park	\$2,000.00
Exira Fire Dept	Complete conversion of fire hall	\$12,500.00
Little Mermaid Trail Committee	Finalize design for trail between Kimballton and Elk Horn	\$7,850.00
Progressive Danes of Kimballton	Renovate Town Hall	\$3,000.00

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks this week. During brief check distribution activities, Irlmeier commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

"Our Advisory Board is pleased to direct \$98,850 in grants to these important community efforts in Audubon County," Irlmeier explained. "The Audubon County Community Foundation is one of nine counties that are collectively known as the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa and meets or exceeds the Standards for Community Foundations as established by the Council on Foundations in Washington DC."

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests. Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you'll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow lowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations. "This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall," said Irlmeier.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are: Chair, Brett Irlmeier of Audubon; Vice Chair Larry Beckendorf of Exira; Secretary/Treasurer Janell Hansen of Kimballton; Jonnie Meislahn of rural Gray; Jay Nelson of rural Brayton; Thomas Nielson of Audubon; and Daryl Olsen of Audubon.



Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards 1st row from left to right: Annette Andersen, Progressive Danes; Margy Hansen, Exira Chamber. 2nd row: Jane Schmitz, Audubon Recreation Foundation; Brett Irlmeier, Chair, Audubon County Community Foundation; Dean Schwab, Brayton Fire Department. Row 3: Steve Schmitz, AMVC Cares; Barb Smith, Audubon Chamber of Commerce. Row 4: Mike Bintner, Exira Fire Department; Julie Olson, Audubon County Hospital Foundation; Brett Gibbs, Audubon Community Schools. Row 5: Robert Mortensen, Little Mermaid Trail Committee; Gene Karstens, Audubon County Conservation Board, and Ron Mullenger, Audubon County Conservation Club.