For more information contact:

Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director

Office: 800-794 -3458

\$32,180 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

In conjunction with National Community Foundations Week (November 12-18) Brett Irlmeier, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that \$32,180 in grants was awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies. With these grants, the Audubon County Community Foundation has distributed nearly \$890,000 in grants and scholarships over the last twelve years.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the September 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the Audubon County Board of Directors:

Organization	Organization/Project	Award
Audubon County Agricultural	Replace livestock show barn and	\$8,180.00
Society	cattle barns with multi-purpose exhibition building	
Audubon County Hospital Foundation	JTECH computerized muscle testing system for Hospital	\$2,000.00
Audubon Recreation Foundation	Funding for architectural designs for rec center	\$10,000.00
City of Brayton	Picnic tables and benches for Old Glory Park	\$2,000.00
Exira Fire Department	Repair or replace roof on building	\$2,000.00
Little Mermaid Trail Committee	Install ADA accessible public restrooms in park	\$5,000.00
PE4Life	Materials to build storage cabinets for skates to be used at Agri-Hall	\$3,000.00

Of this total, \$2,000 from the Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund was awarded to the Exira Fire Department. The Audubon Recreation Foundation was awarded \$2,400 from the Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund, \$600 from the Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund, \$1,000 from the Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund, \$440 from the Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon, and \$440 from the Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund.

The Manatt family also made these additional distributions from their Taylor Hill Endowed Fund:

Organization	Organization/Project	Award
Audubon Country Players	Purchase tables for dinner theater and	\$757.00
Community Theater	supplies to make and repair flats	
Audubon Firehouse Flames	Purchase an automated external defibrillator for the Memorial Building	\$2,000.00

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on November 13th. During brief check distribution activities Irlmeier commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests. Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you'll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow lowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations. "This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall," said Irlmeier.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are: Chair, Brett Irlmeier of Audubon; Vice Chair, Jonnie Meislahn of Audubon; Secretary/Treasurer, Thomas R. Nielsen of Audubon; Joanie Heuton of Kimballton; Jay Nelson of rural Brayton; Daryl Olsen, DVM, of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen, Esq. of Exira.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.



Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards: 1st row from left to right: Brett Irlmeier of Audubon, Chair, Audubon County Community Foundation; Pat Nyland, City of Brayton; Julie Olson, Audubon County Hospital Foundation; Melissa Thygesen, Audubon Firehouse Flames; and Gary Van Aernam, Audubon County Agricultural Society.